Name des Museums
Titel des Bildes
Back to the search

Ahrensburg Castle Foundation
Lübecker Straße 1
22926  Ahrensburg

Fax: 04102/678831
E-Mail: info@schloss-ahrensburg.de

Opening Hours

March-Oct. Tue-Thu, Sat & Sun 11am-5pm
Nov.-Feb. Wed, Sat & Sun 11am-5pm
guided tours by appointment

The castle of Ahrensburg with its four prominent corner towers and the mout was built around 1585 as a triple house in Renaissance style by order of Count Peter Rantzau. Until 1759 the Rantzau family lived here. Then, the Danish treasurer and later liege lord Heinrich Carl Schimmelmann bought the castle. He had some structural changes made which complied with the tastes of Rococo and Early Classicism.
The Schimmelmann family lived in the castle until 1932. Since 1955 it is open to the public.
Today Ahrensburg Castle is a unique testimony of noble culture in Schleswig-Holstein. It shows luxurious interiors with valuable panellings, parquet floors, stuccoed ceilings, exquisite furniture, paintings and Meissen china.