Name des Museums
Titel des Bildes
Back to the search

District Museum of the Duchy of Lauenburg
Domhof 12
23909  Ratzeburg

E-Mail: kreismuseen-rz@t-online.de

Opening Hours

Tue-Sun 10 am – 1 pm / 2-5 pm

The former summer residence of the Mecklenburg dukes was built from 1764 to 1766. Since 1973 it houses the “Kreismuseum Herzogtum Lauenburg” (duchy of Lauenburg district museum). Starting with a presentation of archaeological finds, the museum also covers the history of the “Herzogtum Lauenburg” (duchy of Lauenburg) and the controversial issue of the border between East and West Germany of the recent past. Eye-catchers are the lavishly furnished kitchen, a pharmacy from the 19th century, a “Biedermeier” room as well as a photo shop with a camera collection, studio and laboratory. Art objects of the 19th and 20th century that are connected with the district of the “Herzogtum Lauenburg” are presented in other rooms. The architectural highlight of the house is the large Rococo hall with stucco works by Johann Nepomuk Mez. The manor-house has two annexes. These were once used as a horse stable and a carriage shed. Today they add a charming atmosphere to an originally fitted shoemaker’s workshop, a historical cartwright’s shop, carriages and sleighs. There is also an informative presentation on textile production in former times.